SOT: live mixer/DI newb questions

• Members

hey guys, I'm totally new to the world of live sound and whatnot. But I have an ambient live show coming up and I have a few questions about live sound.

I'm going to have a small 4 channel Peavey mixer on stage with me (PV6) and I'm planning on running the following into it: Sampler, 4-Track, Drum Machine, Analog Synth.... so I can control all the levels myself.

Now, should I be using a DI box at all for any of this? how does it work exactly, do I run say the Synth through the DI and then into my mixer?

also, I'm not sure how to connect my Peavey PV6 mixer to the power-amp. On the mixer there are two outputs for "Main Out" one is labeled "L" and one is "R". (Left/Right) I guess I would have to connect both to the power-amp ?

• Members

I thought you didn't need a DI box if you had a mixer?

Don't get me wrong if you want to amp the signal up some before the mixer, by all means that's a good solution. I would try everything out to see how it sounds before you get on stage (that goes without saying, well not this time).

• Members

the purpose of a DI is to convert an unbalanced signal (mono 1/4" jack) to balanced (XLR)

XLR from a DI will be 'hotter' than straight from the mono jack, but shouldn't be anything the gain knob on the mixer can't fix.

The other advantages of a DI is mainly for long cable runs (ie to the front of house mixer). This is for 3 reasons: firstly it prevents extra noise being picked up in the cable run as the to seperate 'signals' in the balanced cable are 180 degrees out of phase. When they are put back in-phase and added together, any noise will now be out of phase and cancel itself out.

Second, the DI can be used as buffer to preserve the signal from high impedence sources (such as direct from a bass guitar's pickups) by converting it to low impedence which survives long cables much better with out as much high-end and volume loss.