Fantom S or X6?

A*X*7

• Members

This is my first time at this site...

I have lots of questions but first and foremost is What would I be missing if I bought a used Fantom S (saving money) or should I wait till the X6 comes down in price?

After 20 years of Guitar I currently use the Roland EM2000 that I find easy to work with (layer sounds) but my Triton is too technical to shift on the fly as I do not know in advance what will be played in spur of the moment live jams.

The Fantom series looks attractive with its newer sounds, Trigger Pads, and "Skip back sampling" live! But what would I miss with the "S" over the "X6"

Anyone and everyone please reply. Thanks.

• Members

Differences:

- polyphony (S 64, X 128)

- waveforms (S has less than X. X's waveform includes everything from the S, but the X has a 88-notes sampled acoustic grand piano, the 'Ultimate Grand')

- coloured screen (not on the S)

- perhaps some other stuff, don't know. There are (at least: were) comparison web sites on the net.

Those differences might or might not be of any importance to you. At least, I'd wait 'till the NAMM secrets are revealed. If Roland presents a new workstation, the X's might go down in price and might get more interesting to you.

• Members

if roland does announce that a new fantom is coming out does the price drop right away on all the other fantoms? or does it drop when the new product is available to the public?

i would assume that they would drop price right away so0 they could sell as many as possible b4 the new 1 comes out. it makes sense does any1 else agree?

• Members

probably not immediately.

Unless there's an official promotion, you're most likely going to have to use your knowledge to barter with the salesperson ... (MOST people probably won't know there's a new model on the way ... )

It may also depend on how much Fan-X stock is still out there ... I've read some reports its getting harder to find X7s ...

OTHER BIG DIFFERENCE BETWEEN S and X ...