Synthesizer Drums

moog man

• Members

Hello all

I'm kinda new to the whole drum sequencer/sampler realm and want some advice on sequencers. I don't mean to be repetitive as I saw that sequencer thread from a few days ago but I am looking for something that can produce relatively simple, warm sounding drum beats for ambient style/spacey synthesizer rock (like Jean-Michel Jarre style beats). I have done some research and so far and the electribes and older yamahas like the AN-200 and RM1X look cool. I listened to some demos and some of them sounded a bit like what I am looking for but most sound very digital/modern dance sounding with a lot of arppegiated synth and bass lines. I'm really mostly concerned with the drums, though some phat baselines would be cool as well. I also liked a lot of analog ones I heard, such as the roland tr series but they seem really expensive. I'd like to keep it $600 or lower (probably by buying used which is fine).

I also noticed that some are laid out in the 16 pad line format and others like the mpcs are a square shape with their pads. Is there a bonus to one or the other? Finally, sampling would be cool to have as well. Is it possible to load keyboard samples on to an MPC for example and then hook up a midi keyboard and play them?

one last note as well: I need to go the hardware route as I would probably be using this live to some degree

thanks a lot

• Members

you will find no stronger critic of this piece then I, but i have also only recently started to truly appreciate it's power. Check out the mc808. It comes with a grip of VERY usable kits, and can sample your own stuff (w/help of cpu). add in some pretty tight sequencing out. you should be able to easly snag one under $500.