Roland JV-1080

gilR

• Members

Hi,

Newbie here. I'm going to be buying a Roland JV-1080 rack synth. I have never owned a hardware synth before, and the 1080 fits my needs and budget perfectly. Having never owned a hardware synth before, I'm wondering what equipment would be needed to run the synth, other than the keyboard and MIDI cables. Also, are there any preloaded or expansion packs for the 1080 that are Gibson-like guitars?

Thanks,

Gil.

• Members

Speakers?
:)

Hi Yoozer,

I have speakers. I'm wondering what hardware would be required for recording. My brother who is a guitarist said that an amplifier and/or mixer would be needed, but he's not exactly a credible source of info. :)

• Members

You need a mixer when you have more than one synthesizer, or when you want to add other instruments or vocals to what you're doing.

If you go on the computer-based route, a soundcard geared towards making music (aka audio interface) may substitute as a limited, small-size mixer for a while (if it's got like 4 or 6 inputs).

Passive speakers are driven by an amplifier, so you get a chain like:

synthesizer > mixer inputs

mixer outputs > amplifier inputs

amplifier speaker outputs > speakers

If you only have one synth and omit the mixer, then you plug your synth directly into the amplifier inputs.

A keyboard amplifier has the amplifier and the speakers built in a single box. Active speakers have their own amplifiers built in, too, and you plug in the left and right outputs of the mixer.

If you want to record, you need one of these things:

- a computer

- a harddisk recorder

- a compact flash-drive based recorder

- a cd-writer

- a taperecorder

Which you are going to pick depends on your preference and budget.

• Members

Hi Yoozer,

I plan on having one and only synth/audio input. Everything else I need (which would probably only be drums/percussion) would be done via software synths.