NPD/NFD

nuke_diver

• Members

New pedal day == new fuzz day == new Pharaoh day

I posted this over in HCEG but since I found out about the Pharaoh here I thought I'd repost it...extra post counts that way :rolleyes:

I first saw the Pharaoh on a video from PGS here on HCEF and became interested in a fuzz. I spent a lot of time looking around listening to clips, reading reviews etc. But I kept coming back the Pharaoh. Because I am a major Fuzz newbie I decided to ask Mark from BAT some questions to help me decide if a fuzz was going to be right for me.

First off Mark was incredibly patient with all my questions and answered them all quickly and honestly. I was very impressed with the customer service and put it in the same category as that which I got from Bryan at BG Pups. I like rewarding such service and I also like to reward small businessman who put their heart and soul into the product so I ordered a Pharaoh from Mark and within a week it showed up. I haven't taken a picture but it looks just like this

0113111118.jpg

I'm still very much in the tweaking phase with it though I spent probably 4-5 hours total playing with it through different guitars and amp settings. As advertised the characteristics of the amp/guitar still come through, something I honestly didn't expect from a "distorted" signal. I got a lot of sounds I never got before. With the Si diode it can get very gainy/very distorted and is much louder than the Ge diode which is much softer. The tone controls are responsive as is the volume. I had heard it was very loud and while it can be I have much more control over the levels than I do with my Cool Cat pedals. This allows me to find a lot of use for it even though I'm only a bedroom player (though some of things I played my wife thought was very loud ). I've run it as a light OD all the way to a very heavy fuzz and I like it a lot. I can't say which guitar or setting sounds best because they all sound pretty damn good IMO