I was thinking about starting an industrial band here in Seattle

J05H

• Members

A real band. One that wouldn't use (or need) backing tracks. Just a bunch of guys with keyboards and drum machines and such. Maybe sound a bit like Front Line Assembly.

Am I daft?
:cry:

I'd love to meet up and exchange ideas at least. I've been recording in a bubble for several months.

Btw, I play everything. So not really a problem figuring that part out. The no backing tracks would be hard though as I love electronic loops and processed drums/atmospheres and as far as I can tell it's {censored}ing IMPOSSIBLE to find a drummer with an electronic kit.

• Members

I'd love to meet up and exchange ideas at least. I've been recording in a bubble for several months.

Btw, I play everything. So not really a problem figuring that part out. The no backing tracks would be hard though as I love electronic loops and processed drums/atmospheres and as far as I can tell it's {censored}ing IMPOSSIBLE to find a drummer with an electronic kit.

Yes, especially in Seattle. For some reason every drummer I have met cringes at the notion of using an electronic kit, giving some lame reason like its cheating.

Yeah, Neil Peart is such a cheat, hahaha.

• Members

Industrial bands are nearly impossible to get together using Craigslist. Of the three major cities I've lived in (LA, Vegas, San Fran), all my Craigslist ad replies have been from musicians being into more mainstream music such as White Zombie, later Ministry, Ramstein, etc. So then I'll try to get more specific and mention earlier Industrial groups I like (Cabaret Voltaire, TG, Front 242, DAF), then wind up with laptop musicians and knob tweakers who are only capable of producing aimless noise or arpeggiated preset trance sounds.

When all else fails, get a sequencer and do all the music yourself, then get a vocalist if you want to focus more on playing.

• Members