Suggestions for more gain/distortion out of my Marshall MG100HDFX head?

Jody Butt

• Members

This is my first post on Harmony Central.

I am wondering how to get more gain/saturation/distortion/wetness/push/depth out of my Marshall MG100HDFX head. Could I stick an overdrive pedal in front of it? A tubescreamer? Another pedal or effect? I guess I would describe the sound right now as kind of dry.

I have been playing for about 14 years, but I guess I'm still quite the noob when it comes to gear.

I was hoping to get something similar to a Stryper sound . . . see this link . . . http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PMQP3AR3re8&search=stryper

Probably impossible, but any suggestions as to how I could get my sound a little closer to this would be really appreciated.

Cheers everyone :-)

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

I wouldn't waste any money on pedals

Your amp is solid state so most overdrive pedals etc are not no designed to help you

If you're new to gear and stuff.... have you tweaked out your guitar?... tried different string brands and guages?... are your pickups at a good height?

Small changes can make big differences.... your marshall head should be able to do that stryper sound no problem if your guitar is setup right

• Members

Get something like a Digitech Bad Monkey pedal. They are cheap, and they work well for using them as an overdrive, or a clean boost kind of pedal.

Set the gain super low at first, set the level, or output knob all the way up, then just increase the gain knob til you've got enough gain. If you use too much boost then the preamp will get really noisy, and will feedback when you play at louder volumes, so you have to balance it.:)

Most Tubescreamers will work just as good, but the digitech unit is just a lot cheaper:)

• Members

Originally posted by Rich

These amps have a ton of gain. This thread is retarded. You may be seeking compression.