Techs: Oddity when installing Zener diode...any ideas?

fiveightandten

• Members

I have a SF Bandmaster head that i'm converting to blackfaced circuit and I got a Zener diode to drop the B+ down a bit. Put it in the amp, and the B+ is right on the money now.

Problem is...the neg voltage is acting weird.

Before the diode installation, I had it at a steady -47V or so. Now...it's showing a steady -47V when in standby, but when I flip the standby switch it jumps way down to -75V. The tubes are practically in cut-off at that point.

Is this normal when you lift the HT CT with a Zener, or is something going on with this thing? Also, FYI, I replaced the 220K bias feed R's with new 220K's, and they check out fine. The neg voltage drop happens all the way down the line back to the bias circuit.

Any ideas?

-Nick

• Members

Originally posted by Locky

Hmmm are you sure about the Zener's current ratings. It sounds like you may have fried it, and its now a short. Explain your layout a little more and I might be able to help.

Here's the schematic:

http://www.ampwares.com/ffg/schem/bandmaster_ab763_schem.gif

Without the Zener in place, the amp functions perfectly. Everything matches that schematic to the T.

Actually, I called Dan Torres (where I ordered the Zener from), and he reminded me that the bias tap comes off the HT winding....they have the same CT. I didn't notice this on the schematic before. He says it's not a problem and to just bias the amp up according to the neg voltage I see when the B+ is engaged.

The only thing i'm worried about is the tubes seeing a huge spike in bias before the neg voltage stabilizes after the standby switch gets flipped. He seems to think that the tubes won't react fast enough for it to be an issue at all. But it makes me a little unseasy. The only other recommendation he had for me was to completely re-build the bias supply so it just borrows off the B+ supply, instead of using the bias tap.