First new amp in 20 years...Vox? Rocktron?

archer28

• Members

I'm going nuts looking at all the possible amps. I know, I know I should try them out but there are literally NO music shops around here that carry anything other than a few Fenders, Crates, and First Act!?

I've been playing (strat) on and off for 20 years on a peavey audition 20 practice amp. I have a couple of pedals, a Peavey Hotfoot Distortion, and a DOD Fx53 classic tube.

I just borrowed a friend's Fender Princetom 650 for the weekend and I see how badly I need a new amp... I had a blast playing with the loaner.

I don't gig, only play at home, and possibly at school (I'm a teacher but we sometimes have talent shows and I let the kids borrow my equipment).

I don't want to spend more than $300

I'd like to have an amp that can get close to that "Wind Cries Mary" sound, but I play a little of everything (no "death" or really heavy metal though)

I'm looking hard at the Vox AD30VT, but I'm not sure I need all the models it has.

Today I noticed the low prices MF has on Rocktron amps, specifically the ones listed in the "tube" section like:

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Rocktron-V50C-Velocity-50w-1x12-Guitar-Combo-Amp?sku=480979

or

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Rocktron-V50D-Velocity-50w-1x12-Combo-Amp?sku=480982

And their SS amps (like the built in tuner and the effects might be fun)

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Rocktron-Rampage-R80DSP-80w-1x12-Combo-Amp?sku=480997

Seem like good deals and I can't find many reviews on the boards here.

How do the Rocktron amps compare to the Vox modelers? I'm more interested in good sound than volume, or lots of presets.

Thanks!

• Members

The vox valvetronix are nice sounding lil versatile amps, i have the bigger brother (120) on a 2X12 and i LOVE THE {censored} out of it! a real killer + versatile amp :thu: