This is like..the 20th time I've posted this but.....where do melodies come from?

• Members

once again, I find myself without melodies...so, how do you guys do it? do you just magically hear them in your heads? sometimes they come to me...I've got a little tape somewhere of me huming stuff that's just come to me....most of it's crap..I'm usually asending and descending the minor scale...except for one, where I'm humming After The Goldrush....ug

sometimes I'll improvise on piano (I'm a terrible pianist, so anything I come up with be singable, I can't play anything complicated) and that works sometimes...

I dunno...how do you guys get your melodies?

• Members

I usually have a chord progression first. And then I start improvising over that progression. This - and some theoretical background on harmony theory - is how I find my melodies. I'm sorry I can't give you any better tips, but the whole process is largely subconscious for me.

Tammo

• Members

If you have a lyrical hook line that you like, for instance, umm.."The dog ain't got no stink on me" (stop laughing, I'm winging this) just keep singing it in the car, shower, whatever. Most of the time the lyric will lend itself to a rhythmic type of tempo or cadence. Once you have the hook melody line and the tempo, a lot of the rest of the chorus, which is where I usually start, tends to fall into place.

Sometimes what I think would make a good first verse ends up being the chorus, because that's where the point of the song is.

If you're staring at lyrics on a page and you have no music, then you've really only got a poem. Someone once said that poems make terrible songs, or something to that effect.

If you think in terms of a lyrical hook line, and then try out several melodies for that line, the rest should come. If it doesn't come easy, chances are that no one else will find it easy to listen to or follow. The best songs seem to flow naturally from verse to chorus etc. regardless of the style of music.