lyric criticism

bulldawgu812

• Members

this is my first time on this forum. i need some help with lyrics i am writing because all my friends and family never give me any good criticism about a song. so bare with me this is one of the first songs i have written that i think is worth putting music to.

Caught in a whisper

Please be with me now

I think I

• Members

thanks for the help.... i am 15 years old and i have been playing guitar a little over 5 years... this is one of the first times i have ever tried to write a song, because the last 2 years i have been in a praise band at my church, and recently recorded a cd with them. so the original writing is pretty new to me... thanks for the help everybody

• Members

you're only 15? sweet- I wish I would have had the guts to put something out there like you did when I was 15. yes, it's cliche- especially the bridge after the 2nd chorus where you rhyme blind/kind/died/cried. perhaps you're trying to reach too much and not using your normal vocab. or maybe this is your style- either way- at 15 you have plenty of time to figure it out.

I say keep asking questions and collecting ideas- your concern for what draws in listeners is a skill many artists struggle with. also- do YOUR thing. you have to live with it- you get to decide what you like. if you want to write songs that russian figure skaters could do routines to then you are on the right track. my first lyrics were sort of metallica sounding. hee hee (no offense het fans- I'm merely saying it's a far cry from my current vibe). so don't worry if you don't want to be confused with barry manillow- you have plenty of time to develop your passions and sharpen your craft.

/johnny

• Members