Writers Block...Please Help!!!

ThinksImNeat

• Members

hey whats going on...well...i play guitar, ive been playing for a bout 7 years or so...anyway...Im just ok with theory but mostly, i just play untill i make some cool material up. I can say i have five songs i am very proud of. Anyway, recently, ive been in a severe writers block...and i cannot ever come up with anything as original as what ive written before in the past. I keep thinking its the music im listening to now is differeent...(but it isnt much)...I dont know many techniques...and if i did ive used them up...etc.

But it seems when i ever do ever come up with anything decent anymore...its always in the same key or the progression or riff always unintentionally ends up the same. Can anyone give me some pointers on how to get out of this writers block, and point me in the way i used to write music...is their anythign i can do myself to change this at all? I dont know if ive chagned at all or anything, but shouldnt i be writing the same? who knows i need someones help haha!!! These writers blocks ive also noticed, are more frequent then before...i used to never get them...or at least never noticed them...but now i cant seem to get out of them.

• Members

see here for similar

http://acapella.harmony-central.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=102211

also, who cares if you write in the same keys with similar progressions? don't get caught up trying to be an innovative genius. the beatles, moby, the rolling stones, the wu-tang clan, metallica, n.w.a., elvis, ricky martin, the sex pistols, chuck berry, the misfits, led zeppelin, fatboy slim, and madonna are just a handful of examples of musicians that have all made hit records with a pretty consistent sound, signature key, backbeat, chord progression, whatever.