Recommend me a vocal training book!

Mind Riot

• Members

Well, I searched extensively in my area and there are no vocal lessons to be had within a two hour drive of where I live, and that's just out of the question. I have a decent knowledge of theory and play guitar, bass guitar, and drums quite well, but singing is my least experienced area musically. I know nothing can substitute vocal lessons but there just aren't any to be had around here so I was wondering if anybody knew of a really good book on vocal training.

I.E., how to hold your head, throat, chest, what posture, warm up and range exercises, proper enuciation, that sort of thing. The style of music I do could be called art rock, but it's pretty heavy stuff some of the time. But at the same time, I do a lot of mellower acoustic work, so I would like to develop my voice to be powerful and edgy as well as controlled. I have been singing for about five years but have never had any formal training aside from high school choir. After reading some of the posts on here I'm a bit concerned about damaging my voice if I do something wrong, so I would like some help.

So anybody know a good book on singing/vocal training? Any thought's appreciated!!

• Members

"How to Train Singers" by Larra Browning Henderson - very comprehensive and helps you learn how to sing without destroying your voice. Also a little hard to find, though very worthwhile.

"The Professional Vocalist" by Rachel Lebon; has some very good exercises in there. A little hard to find but worthwhile.

"Rock and Roll Singers' Survival Manual" - a valuable no-nonsense book that also teaches singing without destroying your voice.

"Secrets of Singing: Male (Low and High Voice)" - Jeffery Allen; the CDs that come along with it can be helpful to complement the text.