Putting Words & Music Together?

mikespe

• Members

Remember that great line from Eddie & the Cruisers..."Words & Music...Without one you got nothin'."

Anyway, I have some lyrics and I have a melody and the key I want to play it in. However the 2 don't quite go together just yet. When all of you are writing your songs which to you write first (melody or lyrics?) and do you adjust one or the other to fit together? I can rearrange the lyrics if need be (just not sure how or where just yet). I kind of like the melody as is (maybe some slight changes/improvement here or there).

My theory is very weak so I am just winging it however I think I did OK for a first try. I can't sing at all (unless I want to torture the neighborhood animals!) so that also makes this more challenging.

Thanks for any advice you can give!

• Members

yeah, my advice? don't intellectualize so much.

i know theory. i teach theory. i got a degree with theory included. YET, i have never, ever written a song with theory as a starting point. just sing and play. see what fits. see what doesn't. it's trial and error. sing your melody and try to get chords to fit. once your melody's in your head, play a chord on teh guitar and transpose it to fit the chord. in other words, sing the same melody in a different place. - the key that fits the chord you're playing. good luck

• Members

I know exactly what you mean. I have notebooks full of lyrics (well, I guess they are more just words until I put it to music) and I have tons of music but can't get them to go together. However, I do have 3 full songs that I've written. Those all came together at the same time. Basically, I had an idea about what I wanted to write about with a few lines that I knew I wanted and just picked up my guitar or sat at the piano and started playing - poof! Literally comes together in about 30 minutes. But those moments are rare for me as that I'm averaging about 1 per year :rolleyes: