Did your hard work earn you quick success?

JSmalley12000

• Members

Hello all. I am currently a bedroom musician working to become a gigging muscian, and if that goes well, maybe try and get some press clippings before I pack it all in. I am 28 turning "29.99" soon, and have been working on my "vision" for 2 years. I've been playing guitar for about 8 years, but only singing for these past 2 years, and most of my time now is spent getting my voice up to speed.

I wanted to know if anyone out there reading this found success after a similar path -- instead of growing as a musician in public, you practiced tirelessly behind closed doors until you knew it was as you foresaw, and were able to get a band going and found warm reception to your work.

I don't mind paying my dues, but I feel that can be done in private. I also don't have the years to burn. I want to get out there when the time is right and start sharing my music with everyone.

Thanks, cheers.

• Members

Well, my experience has told me, that working alone and secluded most of the time is not so good an idea. You need to get out there and see and feel how they react to your music, then go back home and use that experience to develop, then go back again, and so forth. It's not something you can predict from the bedroom. Well, at least I wouldn't be able to.

• Members

Well, my experience has told me, that working alone and secluded most of the time is not so good an idea. You need to get out there and see and feel how they react to your music, then go back home and use that experience to develop, then go back again, and so forth. It's not something you can predict from the bedroom. Well, at least I wouldn't be able to.