Pissed off at my Peavey Classic 30 (help requested).

tidalwaveGB

• Members

This might just be a tube issue that I am having, but I'm not sure, so I'm calling on HCAF's experts to shine some light on my Classic 30 woes.

Here's the problem: The amp's volume is sporadically fading out completely, and this usually happens after the amp is warmed up and has been played for at least 20-30 min. If I "hit" the top of the amp with my hand, the volume will sometimes come back, but then other times it will remain dead silent (no hiss, no hum, no buzz).

Does this sound like a power-amp tube issue, or maybe something is loose? A transformer issue maybe? Tone-wise, the amp sounds great, when it works, so it leads me to believe that perhaps the tubes are not the problem (but I'm no expert).

A little bit of background info: Speaker has been replaced with a WGS British Lead 80, and all tubes were replaced roughly one year ago (for the second time, since I bought it new in '05), with a matched set from JJ tubes.

Also, I generally don't gig with this amp, rarely turn the volume up past "neighbor-friendly" levels (I live in an apartment building), and use it for maybe one hour-per-week. I sometimes will boost the lead channel with an overdrive to get some nice grinding distortion, but usually play on the clean channel with pedals.

Any trouble shooting tips? I would like to be able to fix this problem myself, and frankly, don't have the money to pay a tech to inspect it, let alone repair it. If I can't fix it myself, I'm considering just selling the amp "as is" for a stupidly low price, just to get rid of it, and let it be someone else's project. Does $200 sound fair, if I don't want to bother fixing it? I figure that, since I installed a tube guard, Tom's Tube Tamer, and upgraded the speaker, it would be a fair price.