Little help for modding this thing: 'Distortion Dog'?

jussi_k

• Members

I already posted this on the FX-forum but here we go;

I got a strange distortion pedal, made in Czech Republic, 'Distortion Dog' and it sounds like total crap. The on/off switch was broken and I got it for free from a friend.

I will fix the switch and I want to rehouse it in some funny fruit box or something but if you look at the pics, can you recognize if it is a copy of some other pedal and can you give me any hints about whether and how I should try to mess with it? It sounds so bad that no matter what changes I could do to it would make it sound better.

And yes, I am a total beginner in building pedals.

dog1.JPG

dog2.JPG

dog3.JPG

• Members

The stomp switch, box and pots (volume, drive etc. controls. Short for potentiometer also known as a variable resistor) and jacks are the most expensive parts. So even if you build a whole new pedal you have a chunk of the expense right there. To mod it may be more or less just try to find a drop in replacement for the IC chip, the little flat square looking thing.

AMZ has boards and Jack Orman is the moderator of this fine forum. He can help you most likely here if you had troubles. He has a good selection of boosters. There are always the clones and tweaked clones to build. There are a bunch of other folks selling PCB too that may drop right in the box and hook you up with some cool sounds. If you got creative with the PCB tracks you could make a whole new circuit on the same board.