Electricians and those proficient in amp biasing, I need some help please

Soundstorm

• Members

Ok, this is my first go at biasing my own amp. I am an electrician (not certified, but have learned on the job over the years) so I am used to working on higher voltages and have taken whatever precautions I can to make sure I'm doing this safely.

Here's my problem. I had taken the chassis out of it's headshell on the Matamp a few days ago so I could experiment with preamp tubes, but while doing this I noticed the EL34 in position V3 (I'm not sure what the actual positions are, but let's say that looking from the back of the amp, V1-V4 goes from left to right), I noticed that the EL34 in V3 was redplating. I figured this was a biasing problem so I decided to take my first crack at it.

Here are my readings: At pin 3, I'm reading 506VDC, which according to the Weber bias calculator, a hot bias should be somewhere in the 35mA range. However, I've noticed a lot of Matamp guys like their's biased at 40mA, my guess is to achieve even more of that Matamp power tube grind.

Here's the problem: At V1, V2, and V4 I got an even 40mA reading NOTE: each power tube has it's own bias trimpot. At V3 (the one redplating, I was getting something off the charts). So I turned the amp off, let it cool down, removed the tubes and placed the one that was in V3 into V1. I turned the amp back on, let it warm up, then adjusted the bias trim pot for V3 to 40mA (I'm taking my bias reading from pins 1 & 8, which are jumped). But now, I'm not getting any reading at all from any of the other tubes, yet they all appear to be on and glowing.

What I was going to attempt today is throw in a pair of Sovtek Mesa EL34 that I happen to own (and are still new), and see if they bias up. What I'm wondering is what could've caused those strange readings.