Help a noob DJ Please

james_freestyle

• Members

hey guys.

My family doesn't have very much money, but my sister is getting married.

The cheapest DJ price we can get for the wedding is $400. I guess that is the going rate for 4 hours... it seems like a lot of money, so i figured since I already have a 500w powered mixer, and two 250-watt speakers (plus access to mics, and more speakers) that i could do this gig.

I an a complete noob when it comes to DJ-ing. I do live sound for bands, so i do have experience with live setting, but i do not know what to run the music through. I cannot get a turntable or anything, but what else should i use?

What do i actually PLAY the music through (iPod? Laptop?)

Where can i aquire all of the neccessary music for a wedding-after-party?

THANX SO SO MUCH:love:

• Members

Generally DJ's have more than just a PA and an iPod or a stack of albums - they bring lights, a wide variety of dance music and lots of experience at keeping a party in motion. The real trick to being a DJ is to know what people like to hear and know how to make fun happen. You have to keep a flow to the music so that the energy stays high, drops at just the right time, then changes directions and picks back up - all while taking in requests and operating the gear efficiently (especially if they do more than just hit play). And if you can do all this while looking good then you get a check, a referral, and your Saturday nights will never be the same.

Some people use laptops, some use turntables, some use CD's. I tried them all but currently I use a Numark D2 Director with a hard drive full of high-quality MP3's that allows me to setup playlists and do effects like beatmatching, scratching, etc.

I got my music from Rhapsody.com and it took me months to get enough tunes and organize them.