should i sell or should i .......

AJWhiting

• Members

i need some advice on something that i have been debating with myself on for a few weeks now. ok, here it is:

i am a classical guitarist. or...i was. i spent 8 years in a conservatory environment learning the craft. in those 8 years, i picked up a Robert Ruck concert guitar. The most beautiful nylon string that i have ever seen. Spruce top, Rosewood sides and back. as you can tell, i am in love with it.

now, as i have left the conservatory and branched out into my own music, i have really come to the realization that classical guitar never really did it for me. it was never the music to give me chills. since then, i have invested my time and money in more of an acoustic singer/songwriter genre, while trying to combine a little fingerstyle classical technique with it.

so i have this ruck guitar, that is mostly sitting in its case in my room. i take it out every once in a while, tune it up, soak the humidifiers, and put it back. recently, i got an offer from one of my old friends for $8,000 for it.

now. i really need to invest a lot more money into what i am doing now. ie- a PA System, recording equipment, etc. and this would be a good amount to start with.

so, do i keep a ferrari in my garage if i don't drive it? or do i give it to somebody i trust who will put it to good use?

• Members

Originally posted by AJWhiting

...or do i give it to somebody i trust who will put it to good use?

I would sell it. $8000 will buy an awful lot of high-quality PA and recording equipment. Then again, I've never owned such an expensive guitar, nor do I have any idea of its sentimental value.

However...I think your last line gave away which way you're leaning.

• Members

Originally posted by WGH

I would sell it. $8000 will buy an awful lot of high-quality PA and recording equipment. Then again, I've never owned such an expensive guitar, nor do I have any idea of its sentimental value.