Need help picking some speakers for my first gig

dj igo

• Members

I've done house parties but now i'm starting to get requests to do dj in like hotel ballrooms and small venues (which i've never done before) but i don't have the speakers or enough cash to do so right now. So I'm struggling to pick between the active or passive speakers. My budget was 750$ (which is changing cuz i could just work my ass off for more money). I'm a mobile dj looking for quality sound that can fill up a room of 250-300 people. So far I could get 2 Yamaha's s115v's for 650$ plus a 340$ amp..and additional $$ for cords....or i could get one Mackie srm450 v2 (which i heard one by itself could power a room for 200-250 people..but that would look weird with one speaker.) Then wait till i get enought money and get a second srm450v2 within a month or two. The mackie's in the store have crisp clears sound..but not a lot of base ( i do want base)...but i haven't heard the yamaha's yet so i don't know. Any suggestions?...I mean the mackie's are light and have an active amp. But the yamaha's are passive and with a good amp i could maximize it's power....ANY SUGGESTIONS? (or if you suggest other sound systems) I'm still new at this and am interested in what the more experienced have to say.

My set up right now :

2 denon s3500's and got a road ready case already..lol at least

1 numark mixer (it's cheap need to get a new one)

bose home theater system (lol i know...but i have been using these for house parties)

• 4 weeks later...
  • Members

I know you'd rather hear from DJ's but I'm just at the research stage to buy my first speakers. Like you, I'm wondering if I can get away with just buying one for now. I don't want to buy subs ever ...to heavy and expensive...and was told that it's not necessary if you get 15" speakers. I'm looking at the newest FBT speaker right now. It's