New 12er, Seagull or Breedlove

Eppito

• Members

This is my first time back on the forum since a few weeks before Katrina hit (if not longer). I fared well. My house sustained little damage and all my guitars are fine (whew).

Since the storm I've developed an interest in getting a 12 string (hereafter referred to as a "12er"). My first choice, based on build quality and price, is the cedar top Seagull S12+ ("lam" cherry back and sides). I've played it on two occasions and it appears a good way to go.

Recently I saw a Breedlove AC250 SM12 online at their web site. It is quite a striking instrument. I have no idea how it sounds, but given the description of its overall design and build quality, it does seem a formidable instrument.

The Breedlove is $300.00 more than the Seagull, but appears on the surface to be of finer quality, though of course, hearing is the pudding's proof. So, with that said, has anyone tried the AC250 12er? What are your impressions of it compared to the Seagull 12er?

• Members