Seagull s6 experience

dinostrat

• Members

So i walked into GC today looking to pick my girlfriend up a guitar for her birthday and I started playing the S6 original and I was just absolutely blown away. For a guitar that was

1) The lack of a cutaway- I usually play electric, so I was not really used to not having a cutaway for high fretboard access. I'm looking for a strummer, so I don't know how big of a concern this is. Is there another quality guitar in this price range with a cutaway?

2) No Pickup- I know theres an acoustic/electric version of the s6, but its $120 dollars more. Is it worth it to just pay the extra cash, or is it equally fine to just buy a 50 dollar pickup and throw it on?

Thanks for all your help guys! Other suggestions (that kind of sound like a martin or the S6) in the 400-700 price range would also be super helpful.

• Members

I think that everyone here at HCAG has decided that anything over the 5th fret is pointless.

and you can always have your tech install a pickup, which is better because then you get to choose the electronics. You can even get ones without the barn door!

So really cutaway and pickups are pointless in my opinion.

my 2 cents.

• Members

I love my Seagull S6. I rarely go up so high that I'm wishing for a cutaway, and if you want a strummer, you're not going to need the cutaway. I'd add a pickup afterwards, it gives more choices and is less damaging to your guitar.

• Members

I have owned a couple of Seagull's over the years. Great bang for the $, w/a sold top too. With the right set-up (to fit your girlfriends needs) it should do well.:thu:

IMO: Don't think that you would need a cut away. If you wanted a pickup, I would wait & add on later. There are so many different types of pickups on the market in that price range, that may fit your playing needs better than the one that come w/(Active, Non-active, sound whole, under the bridge, etc). I like non-active Fishman - Neo-D $100 for example.

• Members