recommend digital turntable (me=dj-ing nubcake)

snarekrazee

• Members

i've never done any dj-ing in my life and i've never used turntable except for messing around with them for a couple of minutes at the store.the reason i want to start is mainly because i am an electronic artist (dnb,electronica,dance,trip-hop) and it will be a requirement soon enough.

the way i see things is that digital turntables work just as well as analog ones but they're also more portable and cost efficient (which i need).here are a couple of decks i'm looking at which i think aren't total crap AND they're also in my price range:

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Cortex-Dmix300-Digital-Music-Control-Station?sku=801465

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/American-Audio-CK-1000-Professional-MP3CD-PlayerMixer?sku=801314

suggestions please,thanks.

• Members

the way i see things is that digital turntables work just as well as analog ones

Spend enough time with both and I wager you'd reach a different conclusion.

Before we can tell you if those things are any good for you, we need to know exactly what you're planning on doing. Will your sources be records or digital? Do you just need to be able to mix tracks together, or do you want to want to be able to scratch?

I don't like those boxes that supposedly do everything personally. If one portion fails the whole thing is probably useless, and they're usually not built for anything but the least demanding of operators.

• Members

i do want to learn,i've wanted to for a few years now just never got around to it since i was caught up with school and trying to put together a [rock] band.i actually stopped looking for a band a few months ago due to not finding people that are at least partially reliable and who are good at their craft,so i decided to actually put 100% in recording/mixing/producing and started an album.now i have an "excuse" to not put dj-ing off any longer.