Tips on how to practice needed

baldbloke

• Members

Hi,

First picked up a guitar 32 years ago at the age of seventeen. Like so many others, didn't apply myself. Had more layoffs than pick-ups with the guitar. Wasn't prepared to put in the hard work required. Spent at least 25 of those 32 years not playing, the other seven was spent playing the same old tat that I learned at seventeen. (Boring, or what!).

So, after 32 years I'm a noob.

Now, aged 49, I have developed an absolute passion for improving. Been practicing more in the last 3 months than I have ever practiced in the preceding 32 years. It feels like every waking minute of my day is spent practicing guitar, thinking about guitar or listening to guitar. I got it bad. If only I had this passion when I was younger. Grrr!

Fingerpicking is my preferred method. It takes me a very, very long time to learn new tunes. Example: I spent a total of 12 hours recently learning and practicing Blackbird (Beatles) before I was satisfied with the fingering. (And it still isn't what I'd call "polished" yet)

However, whilst slogging away to get tunes right and attempting to make them sound acceptable (to me, anyway), I find that they become very mechanical and boring. It really is a slog. So much hard work for what seems like very little return. But the occasional noticeable improvement gives me encouragement.

On the plus side of things, once I have learned the mechanics of a tune, I find that leaving that tune alone for a couple of weeks - or perhaps just practicing that tune infrequently - and returning to it introduces a bit of freshness and it starts to sound a little more musical than mechanical.

One method I use to alleviate the boredom of repetition when practicing is to try and learn two or three tunes at roughly the same time. This way, when the slog gets too much for me, I can switch to another new tune and practice that for a while. This keeps my interest going.