Squier Standard Tele; 'all that' and then some!

Ebsy

• Members

Well, for the past few weeks I've been GASsing big time for a telecaster. the first initial thoughts were to get a Fender Lite Ash (with help from people on this forum no less), but then I started looking at the cheaper alternatives. None of the shops were I live have Lite Ash tele's in stock, but one particular one had a few various telecasters (Fender Thinline's, Squires etc.) So I asked for a quick test of a lovely blonde Squier Standard Tele they had on the wall.

Admittedly I'm no expert on guitars, but this 'cheap, crappy, indonesian rubbish' (words I've heard to describe them before) sounded GREAT to my ears. I spotted a MIM Standard on the wall and asked to play that for comparison. Admittedly the neck felt a bit nicer on the MIM (different radius I think) but I've probably left myself open for some serious flames here but soundwise there was little (if any) noticeable difference.

The biggest advantages the lite ash had over the squier are the birdseye maple neck and the seymour duncans, but now my opinions on Squiers have totally changed and getting one over the lite ash is now a serious consideration.

If only I could get my hands on a Lite Ash to compare :(

If anyone could post their opinions on the Squier Std Tele's it'd be much appreciated!.

Maybe someone who has a Lite ash can post a clip or two for you. It sounds to me like you have to let your ears do the thinking for you. I am no expert but I have been impressed by Squier products lately and in all honesty would probably get a higher end Squier than a lower end Fender.

I have a Fender Nashville that I love but I also love my two squier guitars that I love as well.

• Members