Since they use bubinga for bodies, necks and fretboards. . .

Mercer

• Members

bwds_bubinga.jpgbwds_bubinga_telew.jpg Bubinga (Guibourtia demeusei):

A very strong stiff wood used primarily for bass necks and in laminations. Used by Rickenbacker for fretboards and Warwick for bodies. As a bass neck, it provides bright midrange and a thick well defined bottom. Bodies made form Bubinga will be very heavy but will sustain for days.

Tone-O-Meter

• Members

yea would a bubinga body make some sick tone but might just destroy your shoulder....alot of high end basses are bubinga right? of and TAMA has a starclassic bubinga omni tune kit that is all bubinga. the nerds over in the drum forum RAVE about them. they are BEAUTIFUL.

• Members

If you do a bubinga search here there are a couple of people who have make bodies out of it. Most definitely hollowed out probably. I have been saving a piece for many years, that originally was going to be 2 rifle stocks. It's definitely as heavy & hard as people claim it to be. Eventually I'll get to work on my slab, but it will have to hollowed out because I have no desire to be uncomfortable with a strap digging into my shoulder. I haven't gotten a chance to take it out of it's rough sawn state yet. No idea what's under it, but did look good wet After a little sanding. The more the figure, the more you will pay. Just like anything else.

• Members

I have never really liked the idea of making a whole guitar out of one solid piece of wood.

Sure, people have done it plenty of times. Sure some of them come out just fine, but in reality, the bigger a piece of wood is( as in WHOLE guitar size) the more tendency it has to move as a whole with changes in climate, i.e., moiture/humidity, and temp etc and the more potentially unstable it becomes..