Setting up guitars

GuitarHitman

• Members

Who here sets up their own guitars :confused:

I've always done it myself for the 8 years I've been playing. Intonation, truss rod, action... all from just from what I've learnt online. Only thing I've never attempted is fretwork and work on the nut.

Is paying for a pro setup really worth the money :confused: I've been tempted just to find out if the guitar will play any better than I've managed to get it playing. But for

• Members

Never had any serious problems with intonation. If I go up a gauge, I just hook up my tuner and play the 19th fret of the string I want to adjust and usually move the saddle back (loosening the string a little first :o) until the tuner shows the note played to be correct. Vice versa for going down a gauge.

• Members

I'm in the same place you are, Hitman, I do everything but fretwork and nuts. I've been doing it for my own guitars for a couple of years. I use Dan Erlewine's books as my base for information and technique. My guitars are all Strats with trems, so that makes it easier, one basic approach works for all.

I usually use the 12th fret when I do intonation, but the "money frets" for me are from 1 to 15 pretty much. If you do a lot of playing high on the neck, then the 19th fret is a better idea.

Roger

• Members
I'm in the same place you are, Hitman, I do everything but fretwork and nuts. I've been doing it for my own guitars for a couple of years. I use Dan Erlewine's books as my base for information and technique. My guitars are all Strats with trems, so that makes it easier, one basic approach works for all.

I usually use the 12th fret when I do intonation, but the "money frets" for me are from 1 to 15 pretty much. If you do a lot of playing high on the neck, then the 19th fret is a better idea.

Roger