guitar rack question

• Members

hi, i am planning to build myself a guitar rack for the first time. I am new to the whole rack idea. This is what i was planning.

zakk wylde overdrive pedal

Furman pl-plus conditioner

TC Electronics - G major

Roland GP-100 Preamp

Carvin poweramp not sure which model yet dcm150 or something bigger

and either a carvin v3 cabinet or my computer speakers:confused:

is this a good beginners rack? how do i go about connecting these? can a dunlop crybaby be used to control the volume?

what midi controller you guys recommend besides the tc electronics g minor.

by the way there will be 1 space left in the skb rack case, do they sell some sort of lights system or something flashy that can be added just to make it look cooler?

Thanks.

• Members

The simple way to connect is:

OD pedal -> GP-100 -> G major -> power amp -> cab

The crybaby probably can be used as an expression pedal to control volume via MIDI but I'm not sure.

As far as MIDI controllers, the Behringer FCB1010 is very hard to beat.

If I were you, I would save up just a little more and get one of the Peavey Classic tube power amps. The Classic 50/50 is 2 rack spaces.

Jun

• Members

the carvin dcm150 is a good buy for SS rack power. i thought about selling mine, but i decided to keep it in order to run my pod xt and mp1 when i want to.

another alternative is a used peavey for a couple hundred used.

• Members

You don't need the G Major if you are getting the Roland GP100. It can do everything the G Major can do and more. Put the overdrive pedal in the effects loop of the GP100 so you can put the overdrive anywhere in the effects chain you want. So if you wanted the wah and compressor before the overdrive you can.

• Members

rockmaster1964