Newbie Question: PA for Jazz Duo? Behringer or other?

• Members

Working with a limited budget and after reading a number of posts here, I've kind of decided to go with a Behringer PMX2000 powered mixer for myself and a jazz vocalist. It's mainly guitar and vocals but we sometimes use cd tracks (with bass, drums, and piano) to back us up. The material is jazz standards.

I have (at least) 2 questions: First, what are the best speakers to go with this 250 watt mixer? Need something warm, not overpowering, for jazz. Something in the $200 - $300 range per speaker.

2nd question (concern): I worry about the mixer getting damaged in shipping from Musicians Friend, and wonder if any of you guys know an alternative vendor with great customer support, which could supply a PMX2000.

Also, if any of you feel that there are better mixers for our budget and what we are doing, please let me know. I'm just beginning to learn about this stuff.

Thanks - cb

• Members

I bought a PMX 2000 myself a few weeks ago, and love it.

It's being used for vocals only in our case, since that's the only thing we needed to be louder, to keep up with the acoustic drums, amplified, guitar, bass and keyboards. We play blues and blues rock.

I bought it from the local Guitar Center ($299.95), along with a pair of 25' Speakon-to-1/4" connector speaker cables. The PMX 2000 amp outputs have Speakon connectors, so plan on slending another $50-$60 for the cables.

The speakers are up to you - Yamaha and JBL make a good product, but there are others too. Consider what you're planning to run through the PMX 2000, signalwise, and go from there. I'm using some upscale JBLs becvause they're very efficient (loud), clean (low distortion), and portable (they won't break my back, and they fit in my Cherokee). ;)

• Members