One good reason to use a Windows computer for your backing tracks.

Notes_Norton

• Members

First of all, I'm not trying to start an OS war, I consider computers tools, and I choose the best one for my purposes. I started a Texas Instruments, did my first serious music work on an Atari ST, and used Windows since DOS5/Win3,1 and Macs since System 6 (OS6) on Motorola chips.

I use ThinkPads on the gig. Why? They are very reliable, so reliable that in the control module of the International Space Station, the one that monitors the oxygen and other life support systems and looks for dangers approaching the station, they use redundant ThinkPads.

I've been using ThinkPads since 2002 and I use two on stage for myself and one for my partner. They all have all the data, plus the data also is carried on a flash drive. We can get by with 2 computers, but 3 are up and running at all times.

I do one-nighters, which is very hard on gear. And I do this for a living. So the computers along with everything else get taken in and out of hot and/or cool environments, bounce in the van and on a keyboard stand all night, and generally get abused.

I don't keep anything on the computers that isn't necessary, no "Office" apps, no Internet, no Anti-Virus, no games, no anything but what I need to do the specialized job I bought them for. I've never-ever had a data crash on stage.

More info on how I make and use the backing tracks can be found here http://www.nortonmusic.com/backing_tracks.html

Since 2002 I've had these problems

1. Hard drive started making mechanical noise - no service iterruption - I replaced it the next day
  2. Seven year old computer wouldn't boot up because the CMOS battery was dead. As I said, I can get by with one computer with only a little slow down. I replaced the $4.95 battery the next day. I eventually retired this 2002 ThinkPad because the hinge was wearing out.