Invisible stand on ebay

sparetime

• Members

Hi all.

I mostly lurk. I'm just a keyboard hobbyist so don't often have much to contribute (I probably say that every time I post. just found my sig?).

It's not my stand for sale, but I know these are highly regarded. I'm in the market for a two tier. Can't decide between a standtastic 122 or an onstage platform 7150 with 2nd tier add-on. I like the lower profile of the arms on the standtastic but I've read of the large footprint. I have a quiklok Z stand with 2nd tier and the arms on 2nd tier are too fat for my tastes, raises the 2nd board too high (CX3 on top of a RD700). So I'm torn.

Auction is 150219919915. It's a 3 tier stand. Oh, and to look at these invisible stands with all that cable and bracing, looks like the setup wouldn't be as quick as the standtastic or onstage.

Trin

• Members

Invisible Stands are the most overrated and flimsy things ever made, which is precisely why they are no longer made. They are essentially made out of screen door tensioners - I'm surprised someone hasn't just scraped together some simple hardware store parts and made clones. Invisible Stands are awkward to transport and they require ridiculous amounts of labor to set them up and take them down. And they rust from simple humidity. I threw one out, which I regret only because today I could've sold it for stupid amounts of money on eBay to one of their fans.

• Members

I can't quite agree with The Pro. My Invisible stand sets up MUCH quicker than my Standtastic, and is quite stable although not as solid as my Standtastic. The cabling is all pre-attached, you have one cross bar and two upper bars to mount (15 seconds) and one more cross piece to fit and tighten (30 seconds). You're done.

They ARE a pain to carry (albeit much lighter than anything else) and mine rusted too, in the high desert of Utah that's not a good thing.

• Members