Jump to content
  • 60th Annual Grammy Award® Nominees Announced

    By HC News |








    Santa Monica, CAlif. (nov. 28, 2017)—The Recording Academy™ welcomes this year's class of GRAMMY® nominees. Already a 21-time GRAMMY winner, JAY-Z leads with eight nominations, followed by Kendrick Lamar (7), Bruno Mars (6), Childish Gambino (5), Khalid (5), No I.D. (5), and SZA (5). Selected from more than 22,000 submissions across 84 categories, the nominations showcase some of the most gifted music makers of the past awards year (Oct. 1, 2016–Sept. 30, 2017). As the only peer-selected music award, the GRAMMY is voted on by the Recording Academy's membership body of music makers, who represent all genres and creative disciplines, including recording artists, songwriters, producers, mixers, and engineers.


    "I'm inspired by this year's nominees and the incredible talent each possesses," said Neil Portnow, President/CEO of the Recording Academy. "Their recordings are a true testament to how creatively alive and meaningful our music industry has become. Each nominee uses their craft to inspire, uplift, and tell stories of our world through their artistry. They provide a vibrant soundtrack that represents the highest level of excellence and continues to impact and reflect our culture."


    "The beauty of our process begins and ends with the participation of music professionals," said Bill Freimuth, Recording Academy Senior Vice President of Awards. "Our nominations reflect the expertise and passion of Recording Academy voting members."


    The final round of GRAMMY voting is Dec. 7–21, 2017. The Recording Academy will present the GRAMMY Awards® on Sunday, Jan. 28, 2018, live from Madison Square Garden in New York and broadcast on the CBS Television Network from 7:30–11:00 p.m. ET/4:30–8:00 p.m. PT.


    The following is a sampling of nominations from the GRAMMY Awards' 30 Fields and 84 categories.


    For a complete nominations list, visit  www.grammy.com.


    Record Of The Year:

    "Redbone" — Childish Gambino

    "Despacito" — Luis Fonsi & Daddy Yankee Featuring Justin Bieber

    "The Story Of O.J." — JAY-Z

    "HUMBLE." — Kendrick Lamar

    "24K Magic" — Bruno Mars


    Album Of The Year:

    "Awaken, My Love!" — Childish Gambino

    4:44 — JAY-Z

    DAMN. — Kendrick Lamar

    Melodrama — Lorde

    24K Magic — Bruno Mars


    Song Of The Year:

    "Despacito" — Ramón Ayala, Justin Bieber, Jason "Poo Bear" Boyd, Erika Ender, Luis Fonsi & Marty James Garton, songwriters (Luis Fonsi & Daddy Yankee Featuring Justin Bieber)

    "4:44" — Shawn Carter & Dion Wilson, songwriters (JAY-Z)

    "Issues" — Benny Blanco, Mikkel Storleer Eriksen, Tor Erik Hermansen, Julia Michaels & Justin Drew Tranter, songwriters (Julia Michaels)

    "1-800-273-8255" — Alessia Caracciolo, Sir Robert Bryson Hall II, Arjun Ivatury, Khalid Robinson, songwriters (Logic Featuring Alessia Cara & Khalid)

    "That's What I Like" — Christopher Brody Brown, James Fauntleroy, Philip Lawrence, Bruno Mars, Ray Charles McCullough II, Jeremy Reeves, Ray Romulus & Jonathan Yip, songwriters (Bruno Mars)


    Best New Artist:

    Alessia Cara


    Lil Uzi Vert

    Julia Michaels



    Best Pop Solo Performance:

    "Love So Soft" — Kelly Clarkson 

    "Praying" — Kesha

    "Million Reasons" — Lady Gaga

    "What About Us" — P!nk

    "Shape Of You" — Ed Sheeran


    Best Pop Duo/Group Performance:

    "Something Just Like This" ­— The Chainsmokers & Coldplay

    "Despacito" — Luis Fonsi & Daddy Yankee Featuring Justin Bieber

    "Thunder" — Imagine Dragons

    "Feel It Still" — Portugal. The Man

    "Stay" — Zedd & Alessia Cara


    Best Dance/Electronic Album:

    Migration — Bonobo

    3-D The Catalogue — Kraftwerk

    Mura Masa — Mura Masa

    A Moment Apart — Odesza

    What Now — Sylvan Esso


    Best Rock Performance:

    "You Want It Darker" — Leonard Cohen

    "The Promise" — Chris Cornell

    "Run" — Foo Fighters

    "No Good" — Kaleo

    "Go To War" — Nothing More


    Best Urban Contemporary Album:

    Free 6lack — 6lack

    "Awaken, My Love!" — Childish Gambino

    American Teen — Khalid

    Ctrl — SZA

    Starboy — The Weeknd


    Best Rap Album:

    4:44 — JAY-Z

    DAMN. — Kendrick Lamar

    Culture — Migos

    Laila's Wisdom — Rapsody

    Flower Boy — Tyler, The Creator


    Best Country Album:

    Cosmic Hallelujah — Kenny Chesney

    Heart Break — Lady Antebellum

    The Breaker — Little Big Town

    Life Changes — Thomas Rhett

    From A Room: Volume 1 — Chris Stapleton


    Best Jazz Vocal Album:

    The Journey — The Baylor Project

    A Social Call — Jazzmeia Horn

    Bad Ass And Blind — Raul Midón

    Porter Plays Porter — Randy Porter Trio With Nancy King

    Dreams And Daggers — Cécile McLorin Salvant


    Best Gospel Album:

    Crossover — Travis Greene

    Bigger Than Me — Le'Andria

    Close — Marvin Sapp

    Sunday Song — Anita Wilson

    Let Them Fall In Love — Cece Winans


    Best Contemporary Christian Music Album:

    Rise — Danny Gokey

    Echoes (Deluxe Edition) —  Matt Maher

    Lifer — MercyMe

    Hills And Valleys — Tauren Wells

    Chain Breaker — Zach Williams


    Best Latin Pop Album:

    Lo Único Constante —  Alex Cuba

    Mis Planes Son Amarte — Juanes

    Amar Y Vivir En Vivo Desde La Cuidad De México, 2017 — La Santa Cecilia

    Musas (Un Homenaje Al Folclore Latinoamericano En Manos De Los Macorinos) — Natalia Lafourcade

    El Dorado — Shakira


    Best Americana Album:

    Southern Blood — Gregg Allman

    Shine On Rainy Day — Brent Cobb

    Beast Epic — Iron & Wine

    The Nashville Sound — Jason Isbell And The 400 Unit

    Brand New Day — The Mavericks


    Best Comedy Album:

    The Age Of Spin & Deep In The Heart Of Texas — Dave Chappelle

    Cinco — Jim Gaffigan

    Jerry Before Seinfeld — Jerry Seinfeld

    A Speck Of Dust — Sarah Silverman

    What Now? — Kevin Hart


    Best Song Written For Visual Media:

    "City Of Stars" — Justin Hurwitz, Benj Pasek & Justin Paul, songwriters (Ryan Gosling & Emma Stone), Track from La La Land 

    "How Far I'll Go" — Lin-Manuel Miranda, songwriter (Auli'i Cravalho), Track from Moana: The Songs

    "I Don't Wanna Live Forever (Fifty Shades Darker) — Jack Antonoff, Sam Dew & Taylor Swift, songwriters (ZAYN & Taylor Swift), Track from Fifty Shades Darker

    "Never Give Up" — Sia Furler & Gregg Kurstin, songwriters (Sia), Track from Lion

    "Stand Up For Something" — Common & Diane Warren, songwriters (Andra Day Featuring Common), Track from Marshall


    Producer Of The YearNon-Classical:

    Calvin Harris

    No I.D.

    Greg Kurstin

    Blake Mills

    The Stereotypes


    about the recording academy

    The Recording Academy represents the voices of performers, songwriters, producers, engineers, and all music professionals. Dedicated to ensuring the recording arts remain a thriving part of our shared cultural heritage, the Academy honors music's history while investing in its future through the GRAMMY Museum®, advocates on behalf of music creators, supports music people in times of need through MusiCares®, and celebrates artistic excellence through the GRAMMY Awards—music's only peer-recognized accolade and highest achievement. As the world's leading society of music professionals, we work year-round to foster a more inspiring world for creators.


    For more information about the Academy, please visit www.grammy.com. For breaking news and exclusive content, follow @RecordingAcad on Twitter, "like" Recording Academy on Facebook, and join the Recording Academy's social communities on Instagram, Tumblr, and YouTube

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    There are no comments to display.

  • Create New...