School me about Charvels

dres_x

• Members

They look freaking amazing! But I don't think I've seen one in stores locally before...what do they feel like? Where is the best place to buy them from online? How much can I usually find them used? Is there anything in particular to look out for?

PS. Please post pics of yours too! I saw this one recently and it made me :eek:

12.jpg

• Members

I purchased mine from Sweetwater around Thanksgiving when they were blowing the Style 2's out.(Tele style) I like the neck on mine. Somewhere in bewteen my jackson and strat. Mine has the JB/59' pu combination. MaltoMario is the resident Charvel expert here. I am sure he will chime in for you with some more detailed and expert info. Here's mine.

003-2.jpg

004.jpg

005-1.jpg

• Members

I am no expert on them.

I have one of these So-Cals,

socalcopy.jpg

Pagan Gold (arrgh). I guess the necks are what you hear about most. They are a little bit wider top to bottom than a US Strat. Very comfortable. They don't have a poly finish on the neck, so it's super smooth and fast to move around on.

One of the bad points is that the truss rod adjustment is at the heal of the neck, so you have to take the neck off to adjust it, not a huge deal, just inconvenient when you do need to adjust it. I read that the quarter swan necks are stronger, and so maybe you don't have to adjust them like other necks when the seasons change. Not sure on that though.

L-FR

The pickups in the So-Cals are DiMarzios (Evo in the neck and Tone Zone in the bridge) and it's Duncans in the San Diams model.

Seems like they are getting a pretty good rep from most guys who own them.

I impressed with how versatile the So-Cal is.

Used, maybe between $800 and $700 normally, with a rare good score at $650. Not too long ago the new ones could be had for $850 on ebay but think it is pretty much $1000 now a days.