Songs with more interesting chord progressions?

Marvel627

• Members

Hey guys! I've been playing guitar for over 7 years now, and know what modes/ chords are diatonic to each key, a little bit of how to improvise, a few good licks, have written a few of my own songs, a few songs out of the real book, and I dont consider myself too bad a guitar player...BUT: I need to expand my repertoire! Iv realized that I don't really know a great rock song from to back like the ones that got me wanting to play guitar in the first place! Right now, im learning Testify by SRV, but would also like to learn a few guitar parts with some more interesting chord progressions (I'd especially like to see some great chord substitutions, key modulations, etc in practice!)

Also, if you guys have any suggestions on any "must know" songs i should learn in general, Id love em, as I pretty much dont know ANY by heart right now (which really pains me to say after having played for so long), im gonna get serious about playing music after years of just noodling, doing technique exercises, jamming, learning just licks.. etc. Thanks guys!

EDIT: And im not necessarily looking for "solo guitar" songs like Testify, mostly songs with some great rhythm parts would be great!

• Members

albert kings "get out of my life woman" is blues song with a twist, a nice little blues song where the chords are not the usual go to chords like most blues ...

"key to the highway" of course is traditional blues but still the way the chords go is interesting if you never tried it its easy yet nice..

Runaway train a song clapton and elton john did together has a nice change in it too, sorta blusey sounding at first then turns into a kinda more of a pop tune..

[YOUTUBE]

[/YOUTUBE]

you can look up the other songs on youtube..try learing them by listening ...that is if you like them, or if their of your taste in style of music..

good luck :)

• Members