Guitars you wanted/couldn't afford as a kid, but never got around to buying later?

KoaFreak

• Members

I started playing in '89 and was very much into learning metal/shred guitar as much as possible.

I always wanted a black early '90s Charvel 650 Custom (basically a Jackson Soloist Pro with different name) and electric blue Ibanez RG770, two of the kings of shred at the time, but beyond my teenage budget. Same for the rare and very tasty sunburst flamed maple Charvel 750.

Years have gone by, but I never picked either one up, even though I could have easily. The 650 and 770 happen to be quite cheap these days for what you get, but the 750 is in more inflated territory. I don't really need buy yet another guitar now with the recession ( :facepalm: ) and I already have the super strat bases covered, but it still tempts me a bit when I see one on ebay....

I still plan to get all three of these at some point......before I die. :facepalm:

• Replies 62
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

I started learning guitar during the hair metal 80s so I always wanted a BC Rich Warlock with a Kahler trem, a la Mick Mars and Craig Goldy. By the time I could afford to get one, I "outgrew" the 80s metal thing. These days, I don't really have any desire to get one, though I occasionally have to fight the impulse buy urge when I'm surfing ebay.

• Members

I started learning guitar during the hair metal 80s so I always wanted a BC Rich Warlock with a Kahler trem, a la Mick Mars and Craig Goldy. By the time I could afford to get one, I "outgrew" the 80s metal thing. These days, I don't really have any desire to get one, though I occasionally have to fight the impulse buy urge when I'm surfing ebay.

I like the way Warlocks can look on other people, but never fancied one myself. The Eagle has the least radical shape of all the B.C.s and can pass for a grownup's guitar more easily, although I would still love to have a USA Mockingbird or Bich with a tasteful finish. :cool: