Passive vs. Active

zantor9

• Members

Yeeeea...so i have been looking up active pickups for my new dean vendetta...but the price is a little high and i only want a bridge pickup...:confused: i instead checked out seymour duncan invaders. High output great clean and so forth...but its passive.

I have never tried out and sort of active pickup before and i play mostly heavy music but i do enjoy clean tones that diff pickups deliver. I dont really know if SD Blackouts will still be worth the high price of getting both neck and bridge (because my dean has dean stock passive pickups), or if i should just go ahead and get the invader for less than half the price....

I know its a lot of :blah: but any suggestions?

• Members

Personally I am really pleased with my EMGs, and you can mix them with passives http://www.emginc.com/pdfs/faq/EMG-FAQ-Wiring-Questions.pdf

However, if this isn't something you want to do, I recommend the Dimebucker. Amazing pickup. Or the El Diablo, which I have had a hard time finding, but just found out today that you can order one straight from Duncan's Custom Shop :thu: Also, though I've never used one, BGs Hellarail looks/sounds extremely impressive. :thu:

• Members

Personally I am really pleased with my EMGs, and you can mix them with passives
http://www.emginc.com/pdfs/faq/EMG-FAQ-Wiring-Questions.pdf

However, if this isn't something you want to do, I recommend the Dimebucker. Amazing pickup. Or the El Diablo, which I have had a hard time finding, but just found out today that you can order one straight from Duncan's Custom Shop
:thu:
Also, though I've never used one, BGs Hellarail looks/sounds extremely impressive.

hmm...sounds interesting. Ive never heard a Dimebucker but im guessing its wat i would want because i love pinched harmonics and chugging rhythms which dimebag excelled at.

How much does an El Diablo cost direct from Seymour Duncan? im guessing its passive though. Thanx for the advice :thu:

• Members