G&L Buffs - your expertise appreciated

theGhost

• Members

I have a Legacy Tribute, and I am thinking about changing the pickup covers and knobs to white. Although I've never done this before, I figure it can't be quite hard. This is the first strat I've owned, so I've never taken off the pickguard to see what's what in there.

Would a replacement set something like this work for my guitar? Is there anything I need to be aware of when it comes to changing pickup covers and knobs - any compatibility issues that for either the covers or the volume/tone knobs that would prevent an easy exchange?

I know I can buy covers/knobs from the G&L website, but if I can get them for cheaper somewhere else then I will, right?

Thanks in advance!

• Members

I have a couple of Tributes, and have considered the same thing. The problem is the supply of G&L specific stuff is pretty limited. From what I can find out virtually no Fender parts or cosmetics will interchange. Knobs are pretty generic as long as they fit the pot shafts, but the pg will need to be G&L specific I think. Since you have the old one that could be used as a pattern I suppose there's always the possibility of getting one cut locally, if you can get a deal.

edit: There are a couple of ebay suppliers that run G&L pickguards pretty regularly - don't know anything about them.

• Members

ebay is usually your best bet. I probably have a red tortouise guard for s/s/s and a set of black covers floating around. I changed my original gaurd to an aged white one on I found on the bay as I did not like the red brown tortouise shell guard. Having one made from the site G&L recommends can befairly expensive.

• Members

ok, so thanks for the help, but are any of you sure.

just to clarify - I don't wanna change the pickguard. I only wanna change the pickup covers and volume/tone knobs. I would assume that these are pretty generic, but can anyone tell me for certain?

• Members