Intonation problem

Blahbbs

• Members

I'm relatively new to the guitar adjustment thing, but I'm trying to get in there and learn how to do it.

Anywhoo, I was adjusting the intonation on my relatively new guitar (SX Hawk w/ the GFS upgraded import trem) by tuning the open string then checking the tuning of the string 12th fret and adjusting the saddles accordingly.

That seemed to work just great on all the strings, but I'm still having some problems on the low E string. The string is still pretty sharp up at the 12th fret, but I've got the saddle practically pulled back as far as the adjustment screw will take it.

Other than "dude, you bought a $100 guitar, what did you expect?" do y'all have any suggestions?

Thanks a bunch!

• Members

I don't think the bridge placement on SX guitars is all that accurate.
I had an SX tele and had to do as bryvincent descibes to get it to intonate.
Also be sure to have new strings on the guitar before trying to set the intonation and not the crappy strings it came with.
Old, cheap strings can really mess with intonation.

• Members

Every guitarist should own Dan Erlewine's "The Guitar Player Repair Guide - 3rd Edition"

Every guitarist.

There is no excuse.

It's under $20 at Amazon.

It covers everything, including a lot of stuff you'll probably never do yourself, but at least now you'll understand how it's done.

• Members

Every guitarist should own Dan Erlewine's
"The Guitar Player Repair Guide - 3rd Edition"

Every guitarist.

There is no excuse.

It's under $20 at Amazon.

It covers everything, including a lot of stuff you'll probably never do yourself, but at least now you'll understand how it's done.

Why?

• Members

I'm relatively new to the guitar adjustment thing, but I'm trying to get in there and learn how to do it.