Guitar player, inventor files patent complaint against Ibanez, other companies

Grantus

• Members

In my work as a tech journalist, I frequently check out what's going on at the U.S. International Trade Commission (USITC).

A guy named Geoffrey Lee McCabe, a jazz guitarist and inventor, has filed what's called a section 337 complaint against Ibanez, Floyd Rose, and other companies claiming they are violating his patents.

In a section 337 complaint, the patent holder typically asks the USITC to ban the import of infringing products into the U.S. In this case, McCabe says he has a patent on headless or tuner-less electric guitars equipped with fulcrum tremolos.

Although many of these cases are settled, a ruling for McCabe could mean that those kinds of guitars won't be able to be imported.

McCabe's complaint is against: Floyd Rose Guitars, HHI, Ping Well Industrial, and Ibanez.

Here's the USITC press release:

http://www.usitc.gov/press_room/news_release/2010/er0329hh1.htm

• Members

The press release really left out a lot of detail -- I had to go to the USITC document site and look at the complaint itself to figure out what the alleged patents are and what particular products he's complaining about.

I uploaded a copy of the complaint here -- minus the extensive exhibits. But it looks like he's specifically targeting the Floyd Rose "Speedloader," the Ibanez "SynchroniZR" trem unit, some of the Ibanez "Edge-Zero" trem units (with the "Zero Point System"), & guitars that have those units installed on them from the factory. Apparently Kahler licenses the technology in some of McCabe's patents and incorporates that technology in their products.

• Members

The press release really left out a lot of detail -- I had to go to the USITC document site and look at the complaint itself to figure out what the alleged patents are and what particular products he's complaining about.

I uploaded a copy of the complaint