The heck with Guitar Center (King of The Blues contest)

neffrocks

• Members

I just want to give my first hand account of Guitar Center's King of the Blues.

Here it goes:

Contestant #1: This guy was pretty bad...period. He wasn't in right key and was out of tune. Didn't really sound experienced at all. Props to him for getting up there and playing.

Contestant#2: I play live on a regular basis and almost never get nervous. I'm very comfortable with my playing but I also know there are millions of people that can blow me out of the water. My first amp choice was an Egnater Rebel 20. It didn't work. You only have 5 min to set up and be ready. I'm now flustered. The only other amp I know anything about was the Twin reverb. I used that. The music started. I like to think I play like Robben Ford's style and SRV (though not as well...obviously). I started playing my Les Paul and could barley hear myself. I knew what I was playing but was just not into it. In short, I feel I didn't played my best.

Contestant #3: Weird old guy who had not listened to any of the tracks. The GC worker chose one for him. He started playing and had to stop the music because he didn't know what key he was in. The GC employee told him the key. Weird old guy was terrible. That's all I can say. People were practically snickering at him while he was playing.

Contestant number #4 This guy was rad! He sounded like Johnny Hiland meets Eric Johnson. His demise was he played the country sounding track and didn't win 'cause it was too country sounding. This guy {censored}ing ripped! Why would GC put a country sounding track (with a train beat, mind you) in a blues contest if...ahh, whatever.

Contestant #5 Last years store winner. He was pretty excellent. He sounds like John Mayer and SRV. He pulled it off well with a well thought out solo. Really good!