Any guitarist's in here that play drums too?

SnoMan97

• Members

i aint great on drums. i can hold basic grooves (maybe a little more), but i do play to a click and they're tight. fills kinda suck tho. i'm never going to get better due to an old tennis elbow injury and it hurts after about an hour of playing, so i only play when i record.

i played for a few years in my teens. started again in my forties and it didn't take long to get back to where i was before. so which was harder to learn? hard to say. i've been playing guitar continuosly since i was 12 and i'm a much better guitarist than drummer. i would say drumming is harder. i see people who can't drum sitting down at my kit for the first time and they just can't seem to coordinate 2 arms and 2 legs. i imagine it's like trying to walk, spit, fart and juggle all at the same time for them.

• Members

I started on the snare in 5th grade and was a first and second chair drummer on up too 12 th grade graduation.

I can play and read quite well both a kit as well as tympani and other percussive instruments.

However I generally loose interest on the Kit after about 20 mins sadly.

I still have a few of the drum competition medals we won at Interlochen as well as other regional drumming shows.

It was an Excellent experience.

• Members

Back in the day, I was mainly a drummer, then switched to keyboard later. I have a set of TAMA Rockstars w/ Zildjan Cymbals downstairs - but I hardly play drums anymore.

BTW - other drummers that became Guitarists: Frank Zappa, Jack White, J Mascis.

• Moderators

I started on drums a few years before I took up guitar. (And bass in between the two)

It's really hard to say that an instrument is "easier" or "harder" than another. I mean, easier to do what? But I will say, in my experience, it takes less time for most people to become a good enough drummer to play acceptably in a straight-up rock band than it would to become a good enough guitarist to do so.