What string gauge...

nickeroo

• Members

Did Fender use way back in the 50s and early 60s?

I am asking because I read this about why Ernie Ball's strings took off:

With the guitar-based rock revival of the 1960s, Ball noticed that beginning students were having difficulty playing the bestselling Fender #100 medium gauge strings, particularly in holding down or bending the stiff 29-gauge third ("G") string. At the time, it was common for a set of strings to have a "wound" third string. He approached the Fender company with the problem, suggesting a lighter gauge but was rebuffed.

Could not find anything about Fender #100 medium gauge strings.

Is that true about a 29 gauge G string? Yikes!

• Members

I started playing in 1955. The only strings we had back then were 13 (or 14)to 68, and as thick as 72. All "G" strings were wound back then.

We didn't know anything different and just used them. Back then, the strings used were the same gauge as the swing bands of the 40's used to get the most sound out of the guitars.

I didn't start using lesser gauged strings until 1964 and then those were still 11-56 or so. We thought those strings were really thin!

Back in the 1950's, Ricky Nelson's guitar player, James Burton, started using very light gauge banjo strings for his high E and then eliminating the low E from a guitar string set and just used the high E from the guitar set for his B string, till the low E was actually his A string from that set.

That was the first time I heard of doing that.

Later, Ernie Ball started making really what we know today as slinky strings, and Vox back then made strings in half gauge sets, such as .0095 instead of 9's or 10's. Vox made the only strings in the half gauge sets. Their strings came in octagonal plastic boxes made in transparent colors to indicate the different gauged sets offered.