OT: Recommend a harmonica for covering Zeppelin's "You Shook Me"

Armchair Bronco

• Members

I've decided that in 2011 I want to learn how to play the Blues harmonica. Lately, I've been jamming to a lot of Zeppelin and SRV titles, especially 12-bar blues progressions using open chords in E7, A7 and B7.

What kind of harmonica tuning do I need to learn a cover to "You Shook Me" from Zeppelin I? This song uses a standard EADGBE tuning. And what are some harmonica brands I should consider? I don't want to buy some crap harmonica, so I don't mind shelling out some cash for a nice harp.

(Harmonica starts around 3:06)

[video=youtube;S3-XqLFKQzA]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S3-XqLFKQzA

• Members

Check out the Hohner Special Twenty. I went with it because it because of the good features for a beginner (easier to bend, plastic instead of wood, good quality, relatively cheap).

I picked one up to learn on a few months ago. Seems like a good harp (but I'm no pro!)

Also, look into a multipack to save you some cash. I have seen the Special 20 in a 3 pack with a small price cut from purchasing seperately (E, A & G).

Good luck.

• Members

So, I've been checking out the different Hoher offerings, in particular the Blues Bender and the Steven Tyler signature models in the key of A. These models are less than $25/each new on Amazon.com.

Just curious which harp ya'll think I should get if I were trying to cop the *tone* in Zeppelin's "You Shook Me" that I linked to in the OP? Let's forget about playability or whether a given model would be a good choice for a beginner like me. If I were just trying to nail the tone from that one song, what harp make and model would you recommend?

• Members

Found this bit of folklore while digging around: