ableton live in a live dj set

mrbannsiter

• Members

hello

could anyone help me out.....i'm a programmer and keybaord player whos recently taken a shine to the idea of getting myself some form of dj skill set.

i've got 2x technics 1210s with a djm 500 a mac g5 dual 2.5 and a powerbook g4 1.67

i'm wanting to incorporate some form of software into the set up and was looking at ableton - i already use pro tools and reason for work as it is but have absolutely no idea how to incorporate abelton into a set and what exactly people are using it for live. is it for sampling records or are more users actually creating songs on it to play live?

• 2 weeks later...
  • 3 weeks later...
  • Members

Ableton is STUPID simple.

If you have it or the demo, just run through the tutorial on "Creative DJ'ing with Live" and if you should be able to pick it up rather quickly.

This is coming from someone who has relatively no clue how to use most audio software.

It's really just a very intuitive, powerful realtime sequencer.

• 3 weeks later...
  • Members

You need to ask yourself what sort of dj you a aspire to be. Ableton live will allow you freedom in a musical sense. I wouldn't use it for complete songs just loops really.

Maybe final scratch or hercules console might be better. Ableton is very powerful music creation system that is very easy to use. At any rate I would purchase live just to expand your horizons it may change the way you think of djing.

• Members

You could use both laptops, Final Scratch on one, Ableton on the other, get a voyager midi syncher, and a midi compatable mixer (the DJM 500 is outdated, sell it quickly) you could hook your decks to your laptops, play from fs on one, and the created loops and edit the music from the decks using ableton, it would be very cool.

• Members