PRS guitar not for shredders?

LGK_Dude

• Members

I just read this review on the PRS 245 and the reviewer mentioned this guitar is "not brilliantly suited to shredders," & "shredders should move along," etc, which got me thinking, what exactly makes a guitar good for a shredder? And are there really guitars that can make you "faster?" Would this PRS SE 245 really make you "slower?"

Granted I'm a new guitarist and looking at the PRS SE 245 as my first guitar, so I'm no where near a shredder, but I do want to play decent fast lead lines, thus the question.

Thanks in advance for the reply!

• Members

Playing fast has nothing to do with what type of guitar it is. They are probably referring to the neck not being paper thin or the radius really flat which is more common amongst the "shredder" style of guitar. Plenty of fast players have used fat Les Paul necks and the like.

• Members

If you can shred, you can shred, simple as...Regardless of the guitar. Except for the YJM Fender. I tried that guitar in Frankfurt at the Fender booth, and I honestly have no idea how that guy can play anything on that guitar...

• Members

Any competent guitar can be used for any style, but some guitars are built for more fancy guitar pyrotechnics. "Shredder" "features" include:

1. Streamlined, thin, often pointy bodies, often with gaudy finishes.

2. A flatter neck radius and usually slimmer neck profile.

3. A locking vibrato bridge (or a hardtail bridge).

4. High output pickups, often active pickups such as EMG 81/85.

5. Often made of lightweight woods, such as basswood.

So a guitar like this (which has all of the above):

IBANEZRG3570Z_LB_LARGE.png

That said, plenty of people shred on vintage Stratocasters.

• Members

Shredder is one of those misused terms used by players of limited ability to describe playing they feel they cannot master. I've been called a "shredder" by band mates and I consider myself a mediocre player.