Guitar For The Practicing Musician

Alan Roberts

• Members

GFTPM is Guitar World now IIRC.

It was a great magazine but had a lot of transcriptions and very few gear reviews and product shootouts. Today most people who buy guitar mags are interested in buying stuff not playing.

• Members

Yep, more or less. It went from GFTPM to Guitar to being merged into Guitar One, then Guitar One ended up being owned by the same company as Guitar World and disappeared shortly after.

I went this route. I now have a subscription to Guitar World through no fault of my own!

• Members

I always felt that that magazine was too much for aspiring musicians. The tabs/scores were too precise and overwhelming. It didn't help that the shred era was in full swing.

It was always advanced stuff but the mag was for the "practicing musician" not the forum dwellers of today. A lot of us got a lot better by attempting those transcriptions:)

• Members

Was my favorite mag when I started playing guitar. The tabs were by far the best I've ever seen. Whoever did those tabs was amazing. I still have a few issues lying around here and have tried finding an online archive of all their tabs but I have yet to find one. I know it has to be out there somewhere. Someone has to have an archive.

• Members

Was my favorite mag when I started playing guitar. The tabs were by far the best I've ever seen. Whoever did those tabs was amazing. I still have a few issues lying around here and have tried finding an online archive of all their tabs but I have yet to find one. I know it has to be out there somewhere. Someone has to have an archive.

wolf marshall and jesse gress iirc

• Members