FearMeWithMyLP

are the Sabian B8's good cymbals? I know nothing about cymbols.

I'm a beginner. Many people have said that the best way to get cymbals is to just buy the good cymbals now and skip the whole beginner cymbals. I wanted a reasonably priced cymbal set and was wondering if these are pretty good cymbals. I don't need top notch, just not junk ones

Sabian B8 Performance Pack

B8's are junk. But they're the best junk for the money. 42% off list price isn't bad, but you can get better (though not by much, maybe 50%).

If you want to save money, get all your cymbals used.

If you want to save money but buy new cymbals that you'll have for a while, get B8 pro.

Zildjian and Paiste are better in some ways but noticeably more expensive, especially in Canada.

My advice to you is to shop around and head immediately to the pile of used cymbals in each store after educating yourself about the price range you're looking for and what sound you want. If you want crap cymbals, get B8's. They're good for crap cymbals and I have a friend who made an entire set from them, hats, ride, china, and at least two crashes. Didn't sound amazing but didn't sound bad.

The B8 pro is probably your best bet without going to the AA's etc.

I use Sabian AAX cymbals. Great sound, bright with great tone. I tried a Sabian B8 Medium crash but it was to dark and to much sustain, for me. It would be excellent for heavy metal.