Are Zildjian New Beats Good Hi Hats?

accameron

• Members

I am a beginner who has been looking at some hi hats to replace my Sabian B8s, mostly at some of the Sabian AA and AAX stuff. I basicly am looking for, without knowing what this particular sound is called, but that splashy sort of open sound that you hear on a lot of rock. Like that on, for lack of coming up with a great example, but the hat work on the chorus part of Metallica's "Enter Sandman," and also "Nothing Else MAtters." I went to a pawn shop today, and found a {censored}TY drumset for sale, but they had a set of Zildjian New Beats 14" hats that come with them. Are these good ones, comparable to the ones mentioned above? Will they be able to get the sound I was describing? Thanks!

• Members

New Beats are top-of-the-line hihats and are from Zildjian's "A" line. Zildjians top lines are "A", "K", and "Z". K is generally a warmer sound. A is usually a little brighter but some models within the line are little warmer and others brighter. The Z line is meant for loud, cutting playing. New Beats are great all purpose hihats.

• Members

I think that New Beats are like the SM58's of hi-hats or the Les Paul's because it seems like they are the most common. I think that they're pretty good all-around hi-hats. I have them and really like them, but I do wish they were a little bit brighter and had a more distinct "chick" sound. I personally like the mastersounds by zildjian, but have never played on them long enough to really judge them.

• Members

I use 14" A quickbeats, which are similar in sound to newbeats but are slightly higher in pitch and have a vented, flat bottom (4 holes) to release air faster, and have a more precise 'chick' sound when played by foot. I have played both and definitely recommend quickbeats over newbeats because they have a sharper more precise sound.

• Members