Are DJ's real musicians?

Kvlt

• Replies 77
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

Who cares?

Are guitar players huge ego whores who are usually average at best?

Are drummers bitter little buggers hidden at the back?

What about DJ producers? We can write the music, play it, record it, arrange it, mix it and then play it out in one of our DJ sets, or play it live on our live rigs. In most cases, all by ourselves.

What about that, huh?

:D

Damn stupid Troll.

• 3 weeks later...
  • Members

You guys are funny! :)

A musician is one who plays a musical instrument; presumably with some degree of proficiency if he/she dares to state publicly "I am a musician."

If a DJ were a musician, that would pretty much mean anyone who played a recording or turned on the radio would be too... no, a DJ is not a musician.

A good DJ might be considered an artist, or a producer, or even a composer. None of these designations are in any way indicative of lesser talent than a "musician", they are simply different things.

A lame DJ might just be considered a Disc Jockey... just another job or hobby. :)

I am presuming all DJ's here are GOOD DJ's! :D

Happy New Year all!

• Members

I think people shouldn't rise to the bait.

;)

Every once in a while, a carrot crunching farmer boy who's in a blues bar band will appear in here and start making trouble. I say 'carrot crunching', because they're usually a bit 'rural' by nature and for some reason have a hatred of most things electronic as they are not really familiar with it. Hence, most cannot distuinguish between a DJ, a producer or an electronic artist. When you are all 3 of these things (Or more), it confuses/frightens them even more.